Challenge Coin

Military and Veteran Services is thrilled to announce the official launch of the Challenge Coin program. Although the origins of the Challenge Coin tradition are debated as they were never officially sanctioned, they have become a mainstay of life in military and government service. One may not always remember where they went nor what they did, but behind every coin is a story that will never be forgotten. Thus, it is considered a tremendous honor to be awarded a Challenge Coin.

Military and veteran student nominations are now being accepted for outstanding NC State faculty, staff, and administrators who have made an impact on your journey. To nominate someone at NC State to receive a Challenge Coin, please complete the Challenge Coin nomination form.


We would like to recognize the following faculty and staff who have been nominated by our military-connected students to receive a Challenge Coin:

Dr. S.T. Alexander – Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Jen Arthur MBA Director of Admissions

Dr. Robert Bardon – Associate Dean for Extension & Professor for the College of Natural Resources

Dr. Michelle Bartlett – Assistant Teaching Professor of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Human Development

LTG (ret) Daniel Bolger – Teaching Assistant Professor of History

Dr. Dean Bruno – Assistant Professor of History

Dr. Joseph Caddell – Teaching Assistant Professor of History

Dr. Jon Carr – Named Professor of Management, Innovation, & Entrepreneurship

Megan Cherry – Professor of History

Dr. Nicole Marie Childs – Teaching Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership, Policy, & Human Development

Dr. Christopher Galik – Associate Professor of Public & International Affairs

Dr. Marc Grimmett – Associate Professor of Educational Leadership, Policy, & Human Development

Dr. Eileen Haase – Counselor at NC State Counseling Services

Chris Hitch – Adjunct Lecturer of Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Jeffrey Huckel – Director of Student Services at the College of Veterinary Medicine

Thom J. Hodgson – Distinguished Professor at Fitts Department of Industrial & System Engineering

Ebony Jones – Instructor of History

Bruce McDonald – Associate Professor of Public Budgeting & Finance for Department of Public Administration

Vilma Mueller – Assistant Director of Advising and Student Affairs, MBA Program – Poole College of Management

Dr. Jen Neel – Professor of Veterinary Clinical Pathology

Dr. Laura Nelson – Associate Dean & Director of the College of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. David Parish – Assistant Dean of Engineering Academic Affairs

Dr. Donna Petherbridge – Associate Vice Provost of Academic Technology Innovation

Dr. Jennifer Richmond-Bryant – Associate Professor of the Practice of Forestry & Environmental Resources

Charlotte Roberts – Professor at College of Education

Meggie Romick – Public & International Affairs Graduate Services Coordinator

Helen Lupton-Smith – Teaching Assistant Professor & Clinical Coordinator at the College of Education

Dr. Amanda Janis Stewart – Public & International Affairs

Cecilia Townsend – Advising Coordinator & Lecturer of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Kristen Will – Human Resources Manager for Public Safety

Dr. Beth Wilson – Associate Professor of Parks, Recreation & Tourism Management

Barbara Zelter – BSW Field Coordinator & Senior Lecturer of Social Work